How to be a MacDonald — Volume 24: AMacDonald

John Locke was very forward with his philosophies regarding how humans grow and develop, stating that we are but blank slates that are exposed to experience in order to shape our character and traits. I really connected with the term ‘experience’ and chose to interpret Locke’s beliefs in a slightly more obvious view: Our family’s history and experience rubs off on the children, whether positively or negatively.

The concept of ‘nurture’ is based on the idea that we become who we are based on how we are raised. This statement resonates in the idea that a family’s history can be used to develop the newest member of the bloodline. It’s without doubt that the family would have raised the baby based on the teachings of their ancestors blended with personal lessons and experiences they themselves had gained through their life. History, lessons and experiences are passed down through the generations from parent to child and so on and so forth. With that in mind, it’s hard to say that Locke wasn’t onto something.

Assembled in this picture are generations of memoirs, photographs and keepsakes that can tell tales of the past to the new generations: My mother’s photo albums, my grand-mother’s diary, my aunt’s rolls of undeveloped family photos and my own box of memories. Too many times have I looked into my family’s history to see pieces of myself reflected whether it’s photos or hand-written thoughts. Considering my immediate family has always been together and in contact with the extended members, we’ve always had a rich connection with both the past and the present. I really do feel that because of that connection, I’ve become a much better person than I could have been without them. Locke’s entire theory may not be crystal-clear or even reputable, but I can say from my own experience that he’s at least got some sense of how memories and life lessons shape the generations to come.

Leave a Reply

